• Business Starts Here!

Tanzania Fisheries Research Institute

  • Kunduchi Road
  • Kunduchi Mtongani
  • Kinondoni District
  • Dar es Salaam

Tanzania Fisheries Research Institute is comprised of four Centres and one Substation: Mwanza Centre and Sota Substation on Lake Victoria, Kigoma Centre on Lake Tanganyika, Kyela Centre on Lake Nyasa (Malawi) and Dar es Salaam Centre on the Indian Ocean. Mwanza Centre was formerly a station of the former East African Freshwater Fisheries Research Organization (EAFFRO) of the defunct East African Community.

Kigoma and Kyela Centres were established in 1973 and 1978 respectively by the Ministry of Tourism, Natural Resources, and the Environment with the aim of assessing the fishery on their lakes. For the first five years, Kigoma Centre was run in collaboration with the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO). Sota sub-station was established in 1988, initially as a special project on Nile perch research in Mara region, funded by International Development Research Center (IDRC). The sub-station later became a TAFIRI sub-station under Mwanza Centre after completion of the IDRC Project.